

ALEXANDRA PARK AND PALACE CHARITABLE TRUST BOARD

14 December 2023

Report Title: Appointments

Report of: Emma Dagnes, Chief Executive, Alexandra Park and

Palace Charitable Trust (APPCT)

Purpose: This report seeks approval of changes in the membership of the Finance, Risk, Resource and Audit Committee (FRRAC), the Alexandra Palace Trading Limited (APTL) Board and to appoint a trustee to formally approve the Annual Return.

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 - N/A

1. Recommendations

- 1.1 To **appoint** Cllr Sean O'Donovan (Trustee Board Vice Chair) as a member, and the Chair of, the Finance, Resource, Risk and Audit Committee (FRRAC);
- 1.2 To appoint Cllr Sean O'Donovan as an APTL Company Director.
- 1.3 To **appoint** the Chair of the Trustee Board to sign-off the Charity's Annual Return.

2. FRRAC

- 2.1 The Finance, Risk, Resource and Audit Committee is appointed by the APPCT Board from amongst its members and shall consist of no less than three members.
- 2.2 In 2023 the Board approved the FRRAC membership: Cllrs Lotte Collett (Chair), Anne Stennett, Ahmet Mahbub, Sarah Elliott and independent member Claire Pape.
- 2.3 Following changes within the labour group, Cllr Sean O'Donovan has replaced Cllr Lotte Collett as Vice Chair of the Trustee Board. The Board is invited to appoint Cllr O'Donovan to fill the vacancy for a Chair of FRRAC.

3. APTL

- 3.1 The APTL Memorandum and Articles of Association state the maximum number of directors shall be eight and the minimum two comprising:
 - Up to four trustees of the Charity;
 - One employee of the Company
 - One officer of the Council

- Two others who are not officers or members of the Council or employees or trustees of the Charity (Non-Executive Directors (NEDs)).
- 6.2 In 2023 the Board appointed the APTL Company Directors as follows:

Trustee Directors: Nick da Costa (Chair), Emine Ibrahim, Anne Stennett, Lotte Collett

Council Employee Director: Vacant

APTL Employee Director: Emma Dagnes

Non-Executive Directors: Jamie Copas & Andrew Morton

6.3 Following changes within the labour group, Cllr Sean O'Donovan has replaced Cllr Lotte Collett as Vice Chair of the Trustee Board and the Board is invited to appoint Cllr O'Donovan to fill the vacancies for an APTL Company Director.

7. Oversight for the submission of the Annual Return

- 7.1 The Annual Return is submitted to the Charity Commission by the 31st January filing deadline, along with the Trustees' Annual Report and Accounts.
- 7.2 In 2023 the Charity Commission added 23 new questions to the Annual Return covering governance (financial, risk, safeguarding), charity operations and structure, employees and volunteers and response to major external change.
- 7.3 At the meeting of FRRAC on 4 December the auditor advised trustees to nominate a trustee to oversee and sign-off the Annual Return. It is recommended that the Chair takes on this role, working with the Charity Secretary.

8 Legal Implications

The Council's Head of Legal and Governance has been consulted on this report.

9. Financial Implications

The Council's Chief Financial Officer has been consulted in the preparation of this report.

10. Use of Appendices Appendix 1 – proposed FRRAC & APTL Membership lists

11. Background reports None

Appendix 1

FRRAC (FINANCE, RESOUCE, RISK AND AUDIT COMMITTEE) MEMBERSHIP (proposed)

Cllr Sean O'Donovan APPCT Board Member (FRRAC Chair)

Ahmed Mahbub
Sarah Elliott
Anne Stennett
Claire Pape
Cllr Emine Ibrahim
APPCT Board Member
APPCT Board Member
Independent Member
APPCT Chair (observer)

APTL (ALEXANDRA PALACE TRADING LTD) MEMBERSHIP (proposed)

Nick da Costa Director (APPCT Board Member) & Chair

Emine Ibrahim

Sean O'Donovan

Anne Stennett

Vacancy

Emma Dagnes

Andrew Morton

Jirector (APPCT Board Member)

Director (APPCT Board Member)

Director (Council Employee)

Director (APTL Employee)

Independent Director

Independent Director